Huh. Hadn’t expected that.

Signed Edition (6)

Indie authors wear a lot of hats.  We are the CEOs of our own business, the captains of our own ship, the generals of our lone armies.  (How many metaphors can I mix??)  As such, we have to dabble in things we may be unfamiliar with.  Like marketing.

Currently, I am on a mission to understand Facebook advertising.  I am enrolled in two – not one, but two – Facebook advertising courses.  This is not for the faint hearted.

Sidebar: Apologies to those family and friends who keep getting hit with my ads.  I promise it is Facebook targeting you – not me!

As a result, and in an effort to expand my VIP readers group, I’ve set up an ad for a monthly giveaway where people can sign up to win a chance for the full Mac Ambrose starter library and get a FREE (you see my marketing skills there?) copy of Ghosts in Macau.  Sign up if you haven’t already!  (You can unsubscribe at any time.  Seriously, that easy.  Yes, that’s me marketing again.  Mad skills, I tell you.)

Facebook advertising allows you to target your ad to specific demographics and interests.  You simply go into your dashboard and identify which interests to target.

Easy, right?

Well, no.  This is where it gets fascinating.  My key target demographic should be those Facebook users who have expressed an interest in political/spy thriller authors.  Right?  So, let’s see…Richard North Paterson, Brad Meltzer, Vince Flynn, David Baldacci, Daniel Silva.  In fact, to help us indefatigable Indies, there is even a literature mapping site–you plug in a famous author’s name and it shows you similar genre writers.  So cool.

So I’m testing out various famous authors, and I’m thinking, yeah, but my books have a female point of view to them.  How can I tap into that audience?  So, I start searching the wider web (Goodreads, Amazon, etc.) for bestselling female political thriller writers.

You know what?

I came up with zero.

I expected fewer than the men.  I mean, sure, that would make sense.

But ZERO?

There are plenty of crime, mystery and suspense female authors.  Plenty.  And let’s give a whoop whoop for their success!  The world needs all of us creative types killing it.  Seriously gals, kill it!

But no female political thriller writers who have hit bestselling status?

Seriously?

Shit.

Not sure if I should be shocked, dismayed or somehow elated that the field is so wide open.

If you know of a bestselling political/spy thriller writer that I have missed, please do me a huge favor and drop me a note: hnwake@hnwake.com – because I would love to read them and support them!!

In the meantime, as I told my best friend the other night, I’ll just keep doing my thang despite this very skewed reality.  Because surely someday, the publishing world will see the gap.  Or even better, readers will start to search us out.  Even better.

 

 

